Council of Governments

The Lewis-Mason-Thurston Area Agency on Aging (LMTAAA) has operated since 1976 under the sponsorship of Lewis, Mason, and Thurston counties. The LMTAAA is a governmental agency sponsored by the three counties to manage, monitor, plan, fund, coordinate and advocate for services and programs that serve the elderly and younger disabled persons.

The governing board of the agency is the Council of Governments (COG), which was created through an inter-local agreement and consists of one county commissioner from each of the three sponsoring counties.

County Commissioners currently serving on the LMTAAA Council of Governments are:

  • Sean Swope, Lewis County
  • Sharon Trask, Mason County
  • Gary Edwards, Thurston County

The Council of Governments meetings are held quarterly, unless otherwise noted. Meetings are held at the LMTAAA Olympia Office (2404 Heritage Court SW, Olympia, WA 98502). The Council of Governments meetings are open to the public and you are encouraged to attend to learn more. Persons with a disability and who require accommodation should notify the Senior Executive Assistant (360) 664-3162 ext. 108 a minimum of one week in advance of the meeting in order to discuss accommodations. Every effort will be made to provide reasonable accommodations.

Scheduled meetings for 2024 will be from 2-4 p.m. Meetings are always held in a hybrid setting with options to attend in person at our Olympia office as well as virtually via Zoom.

  • January 25
  • April 25
  • August 22
  • December 12
Top of page